CRHNet Awards Program

The CRHNet Awards Program is a national awards program established to recognize and honour exemplary individuals participating in and contributing to the study and practice of disaster risk management.   Below are the 2021 winners.

  • Deadline for 2022 Awards: September 30, 2022

For more information, check out the CRHNet Awards Program.

Marion Boon Mentorship Award

The Marion Boon Mentorship Award was established in 2020 to recognize exemplary mentorship and leadership in the field of disaster and emergency management. This award was created to acknowledge individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to supporting the development of emerging professionals through advocacy, collaboration, and the transparent sharing of learning, experiences, and ideas. It was named after Marion Boon.

Sarah Thompson

Senior Manager of Operations, Relief and Recovery, Canadian Red

As a leader in the emergency management field, Sarah Thompson has been a mentor to many emerging professionals. She has been recognized by her peers for her exemplary leadership, her willingness to exchange ideas and knowledge and her dedication to the creation of mentorship opportunities for others. Sarah’s leadership has been recognized through the various roles she has held with the City of Toronto Office of Emergency management, Emergency Management Ontario and more recently with the Canadian Red Cross. As the Senior Manager of Operations, Relief and Recovery, for the Canadian Red Cross in Ontario, she has played a pivotal role in the development, implementation and operations of the COVID-19 response in Ontario. Through this challenging time, she was recognized for leading with strength and compassion while providing incredible development opportunities for her team. Beyond the positive influence she has had on her colleagues, she consistently engages with other emergency management professionals outside her organization and uses her LinkedIn platform to engage and inspire and guide others in the field

Larry Pearce Education Award

The Larry Pearce Education Award is offered by CRHNet members to deserving post-secondary students undertaking studies in any discipline related to Canadian disaster risk and/or emergency management. This competitive award is intended to encourage innovative disaster risk management work in Canada and defray the post-secondary education costs for recipients in the year the award is granted. Accordingly, recipients must be enrolled in full-time studies in the year in which the award is given.

1st Place
Tiana Putric
Bachelor of D&EM Specialized Honours student York University

Tiana Putric is a Bachelor of Disaster & Emergency Management (DEM) Specialized Honours student at York University (YU) where she studies natural, technological, and intentional disasters and emergencies. She specializes in human security and business continuity and her research on military neuroscience and business continuity planning has been recognized on multiple occasions. Her academic excellence has been demonstrated through the several recognitions she has received as a President’s Scholar, Dean’s Scholar and more recently Fullbright’s Killam Fellow, making her the first Disaster and Emergency Management student in North America to receive this prestigious US-Canada award. Beyond her academic work, Tiana has also demonstrated outstanding leadership skills when she ran for a municipal council seat in the 2020 Bradford byelection where she campaigned to bring female representation to Bradford’s all-male Council and encouraged youth to engage in municipal politics. Tiana’s upcoming fellowship will allow her to continue her training at Wellesley, MIT and Harvard and to serve as a student ambassador at government events in Ottawa and Washington DC.

2nd Place
Jason Molnar
Undergraduate D&EM, York University

Jason Molnar is an undergraduate student of Disaster and Emergency Management at York University. He has recently played an active role in the Ontario vaccine rollout during the covid-19 pandemic as a consultant for the Ontario Emergency Operations Center and supported the Emergency Department of Mackenzie Health as a Flow Navigator and Unit Clerk prior to that. He has demonstrated academic excellence throughout his studies and his currently a member of the Dean’s Circle of Student Scholars. His academic and professional achievements have highlighted his dedication to public service, commitment to patient care and strong desire to positively impact the field of Emergency Management.


T. Joseph Scanlon Lifetime Achievement Award

The CRHNet T. Joseph Scanlon Lifetime Achievement Award is the organization’s highest honour and is named after the late journalist, researcher, and professor T. Joseph Scanlon, for his lifetime contributions to disaster risk management. The award is presented annually to recognize the lifetime contributions and achievements of exemplary individuals to the enhancement of Canadian disaster safety. Eligibility for this award is open to all Canadians, and recognizes individual service to public safety through disaster management practice, research, education, and leadership.

Tom Sampson
Retired Chief Calgary Emergency Management Agency (CEMA)

Chief Tom Sampson has lived a life of service to Calgarians and Albertans, often as a trusted leader through some of Calgary’s most challenging moments. From the 2013 Southern Alberta Floods to the COVID-19 Pandemic, and numerous disaster events in between, Chief Sampson has provided a calm, dedicated, and trustworthy presence amid chaos and uncertainty. His human-centred leadership has saved and protected the lives of many Canadian in both direct and indirect ways and served to advance the field of Emergency Management across the country.

Those who have had the pleasure of serving alongside Chief Sampson learned so much from him about what it means to be a visionary and compassionate leader. Tom guided and empowered his team to build the Calgary Emergency Management Agency (CEMA) into what is now a national leader in emergency management. Chief Sampson also served as Commander of Canada Task Force 2, an all-hazards disaster response team with the capacity to respond to large-scale disaster events throughout Canada. In this role, Tom helped to support Slave Lake, Fort McMurray, and High Level through the major wildfire events that threatened their communities.

Relationships are at the heart of everything Chief Sampson does. This was true throughout his 35-year career with the City of Calgary, and I am certain his care for others will continue throughout his retirement. Whether working through the complexities of a mass evacuation effort, or speaking one-on-one with one of his Agency Partners, Tom always took the time to  treat people as people. He was, and always will be, a phone call away for anyone who needs help. The Joseph Scanlon Lifetime Achievement Award would be an incredibly fitting honour for someone who has given so much of himself to the safety and wellbeing of his community. Thank you for your consideration.


Canadian Disaster Risk Management Volunteer Award

The Canadian Disaster Risk Management Volunteer Award is presented annually to nationally recognize extraordinary and exemplary volunteerism in the advancement of Canadian disaster risk management. This award is supported by CRHNet membership to encourage disaster risk management volunteerism and to profile exceptional contributions through volunteer work, volunteer initiatives, and volunteer programs. Up to three awards are granted annually.